8-Bits

Classics

Emulation

Jaguar

Lynx

Classic Consoles Forum 8-Bits Forum 16/32 Forum
Emulation Forum Jaguar Forum Lynx Forum

Subject: Looking to buy 8 bit Atari
Author: Mark Wills (cache-wol2.cableinet.co.uk)
Date:   02-04-2003 10:23

Hello. First let me introduce myself.

My name is Mark Wills, I am a 32 year computer programmer from the UK. I live in Shropshire (Telford).

I cut my teeth in the 80's with (in order) the TI/99-4A (great machine) the ZX Spectrum (48K), the Commodore 64, and, my favourite, the Atari 800XL.

Sadly, all my parents could afford was an 800XL with a 1010 tape drive, but it didn't hold me back and I became pretty good at Atari Basic, and player missle graphics, display lists, that sort of thing.

Anyway, the eldest of my children (he's 10) is now pretty computer literate and is starting to show a deeper interest in computers other than just playing games.

On sunday night I downloaded an Atari Emulator and we spent a couple of hours writing simple BASIC programs to do things like counting, and times tables etc. He enjoyed it and I think he understood most of the concepts eventually.

To cut a long story short, I think he has now been bitten with the same bug that I was bitten with in the 80's - And i'm obviously keen to do anything I can to promote that.

I'm looking to buy either a cheap 800XL or 130XE system for my son. Or, of course, if anyone is giving/throwing stuff away I'd be very keen :)

At this time, I don't think a disk drive is practical - I'll see how things go - If he shows a real geniune interest then I'll buy him a disk drive, but for now, a cassette deck will be fine. (He'll probably think it's really neat saving programs to tape! Ah, those were the days!)

Also, if anyone has any games/programs for the Atari on tape, and on cartridge, I'd like to hear from you. Please feel free to email me and let me know what you have, and what you want for it etc.